Quotable #17

“Sometimes I feel so alone,
I just don’t know,
Feels like I been down this road before.
So lonely and cold.
It’s like something takes over me,
Soon as I go home and close the door.
Kinda feels like deja vu.
I wanna get away from this place I do.
But I can’t and I won’t say I tried but I know that’s a lie cause I don’t
And why? I just don’t know…”

–Eminem 

Drug addiction is a lot like depression, eh? Cuz I totally relate (not currently there)

MeTalk #4

Sometimes, in situations where we don’t have a solution, it usually has something to do with emotions. Logic always has a solution. And if it doesn’t, it’s easy to find another road to take.

A friend of mine gave me some amazing advice yesterday. She’s right, of course- my best friends tend to repeat what I already know and reinforce it in my mind. They remind me who I am. Who I always was. But, of course, reminders can only carry you so far. Thing about emotions? It’s hard to beat. Takes time. A long, long time. I have some scars from my friends, but the thing is, they show up at the right time and say the right things- like yesterday, but there were burgers and ice cream too so that might’ve helped too- which always helps to clear up those emotional scars bit by bit.

Don’t treat an emotional situation as practical. More importantly, don’t treat an emotional situation that hurts and you can’t do anything about it as practical. It’s not. As I wrote in MeTalk #2, everything changes at one time or another, for better or worse. So let go of uncertainty. Uncertainty, reminiscence of days gone by. These things can only hold back greatness- all the heights one can reach.

If good things are coming your way- take them. If they’re not, trust me- or in this case my beloved (Won’t Ever Be Rid Of) BFF- better things are coming your way. It may be hard to accept while emotions are clouding your logic, but think for a moment. Better doesn’t mean different– just means more of a good thing. I, for example, LOOOOOVE Flamin’ Hot Cheetos. But really. if I got a hold of XXTRA Flamin’ Hot Cheetos?? Huhuhuuuu.. goodbye Flamin’ Hot Cheetos!

That’s just it. It’s not different- it’s just better. Just something better that Fritolay decided to grace the world’s tastebuds with.

Moving on from scars is difficult- but not impossible. Take it from someone who’s been there, and is still sorta there. Moving on is when you remember, but it doesn’t hurt. You remember, but it doesn’t make you want to go back because better cannot happen unless you allow yourself to grow as well.

Allah said in the Qur’an (and this is my favourite quote):

If you are grateful, I will surely increase you [in favor]” [Quran 14:7]

And I found an amazing page where they talk about gratitude to Allah:

‘In Chapter 4 of the Quran, God asks us a simple question: “Why should God make you suffer torment if you are thankful and believe in Him? God always rewards gratitude and He knows everything” (Quran, 4:147)’

Allah knows EVERYTHING. Why shouldn’t we be patient and feel gratitude? Not yearning for something that we want, but to be grateful for what we are/were given? We need to allow ourselves to be the best version of ourselves. And I’m not NEARLY done.

I have a new dream today. A new goal. I have my four years of university to kick into the ground. I plan on getting the most out of it. I’m going to go out there, and I’m not going to worry about whether I’m good enough or if I’m confident enough for it. My brother says I’m not good enough to make it in Economics, that I’m too reserved to make it in International Relations. My father says he’s worried I’m too scatterbrained to make it on my own. My family thinks I’m “all talk” and that I can’t survive with just me against the world. Uhuh. Sure, I’m slightly intimidated at the prospect of being on my own. A bit worried about the boatload of responsibilities on me now. Sure, I’ll stumble a bit and fumble the ball before the touchdown–but does that mean I can’t do it?

Hell, OF COURSE I CAN. Whenever I wasn’t good enough, I MADE myself good enough! Where’s my moxie? I’ll y’all what. I’m gonna find my gumption, and I’m gonna get back to you. And when I do, better hold onto your hats. Cuz I’m gonna knock them right off.

Quotable #16

“Her road was harder than most
She walks through walls like a ghost
Her smile’s both pleasure and pain
And her guns are always loaded

Her soul’s as big as the sky
Her life way ahead of its time
This town is too small for ‘m both
She’s a time bomb that just exploded”

–Lady Day, Lifehouse